Skip to content Skip to navigation

Food Policy Council (FPC) Meeting on Mon, March 26, 2018 - 6:30 PM

Meeting Agenda: 
  1. Action Item: Administrative Items
    1. Determine quorum of members, agenda approval
    2. Approval of February meeting minutes
    3. 2018 Membership changes – Open agricultural producer spot
    4. Kansas Alliance of Wellness Grant Update
    5. FPC Focus Group – Friday, March 30 @ 3pm at LPL
      1. Researcher at K-State conducting focus groups – all encouraged to come
    6. Diversity Survey 
    7. Budget overview 
  2. Discussion Item: Public Input
  3. Discussion Item: 2018 Food System Plan, Full Council Policy Priorities 


Goal 4, Objective 2 (Expand City- and County-led initiatives to make food more affordable)

4.2.1: Reduce and eliminate the sales tax on groceries

  • State Legislature Update

Goal 1, Objective 3 (Increase local food purchasing)

1.3.1: Invest in signage, shared infrastructure, and coordinated marketing to support Douglas County farmers markets

  • Lawrence Farmers Market Update  

Host Local Food Economic Summit (May 30-31, 2018)


See Harvesting Opportunities Publication!

1.1.1: Maintain currently adopted policies for food systems economic development

  • Overview of message, audience, agenda, funding
  • FPC Member Actions
  • FPC funding request


  1. Discussion Item: Subcommittees 


  1. FPC Member Updates


  1. Adjourn
Meeting Location: 
Wakarusa Brewery
Street Address: 
710 Main Street, Eudora, KS 66025, USA
Meeting Minutes: 

**The Council did not achieve a quorum to hold formal meeting. Given the sensitive timing of the funding request for the local food economics summit, a call was made to member Scott Thellman to achieve quorum in order to have an official vote on this Agenda item under I.g. The motion was made by Steinle, seconded by Jones-Wisner, and passed unanimously.**

      1. I.g -- request for funding of upcoming Local food economic summit: $3000 

In attendance: Jennifer Kongs, John Pendleton, Olivia Taylor-Puckett, Kim Criner, Connie Fitzpatrick, Tamara Cash, Jason Champagne, Ashley Jones-Wisner, Michael Steinle, Michele Dillon, Scott Thellman (via phone) 


Staff: Helen Schnoes, Jasmin Moore