Skip to contentSkip to navigation

Volunteering at Youth Services

General information about volunteering at Youth Services.

Douglas County Youth Services is dedicated to development of programs which will enrich the lives of youth, by providing learning experiences while they are in our care. We rely on volunteer involvement to assist us in proving innovative and quality programs to the youth we serve. Volunteers may serve in a variety of capacities, e.g. providing services on a short-term basis, becoming a regular participant in current agency programs, completing a practicum or internship program, conducting program evaluations, data collection activities or assisting in implementation of new programs.

Kansas Administrative Regulations require that volunteers at the detention center and the detention day school programs undergo the same recruitment, screening, selection, and performance evaluation process as facility employees.

As Volunteers, we will need you to provide the following:

  • An Application
  • Information for a criminal background investigation
  • A health assessment completed by a licensed physician, with documentation indicating that you are free from tuberculosis.

For more information or if you have any questions, please contact our Detention Operations Manager, Casey Crane.

ccrane@douglascountyks.org

785-331-1300

 

Department Contacts

Name Job Title Phone Number Email Address
Pam Weigand Director 785-331-1311 pweigand@douglascountyks.org
Leigh Housman Assistant Director - Youth Services 785-331-1314 lhousman@douglascountyks.org
Casey Crane Detention Operations Manager 785-331-1305 ccrane@douglascountyks.org
Paula Rapp Administrative Services Supervisor 785-331-1307 prapp@douglascountyks.org
Robin Rooks Juvenile Services Officer Supervisor 785-331-1306 rrooks@douglascountyks.org
Jennifer Hylton Juvenile Services Officer 785-331-1309 jhylton@douglascountyks.org
Kate Holman Juvenile Services Officer - Truancy 785-331-1308 kholman@douglascountyks.org
Rick West Juvenile Services Officer 785-331-1319 rwest@douglascountyks.org
Megan Thomas Juvenile Services Officer - Juvenile Intake 785-331-1328 mthomas@douglascountyks.org