Skip to contentSkip to navigation

Sustainability at Youth Services

Douglas County is Providing leadership, making decisions and taking actions to serve Douglas County by integrating a healthy environment, vibrant economy, and livable society to benefit current and future generations. Improving the sustainability of our operations for the future can have immediate benefits for County residents today. Many measures that help us achieve sustainability can also reduce costs, improve the health of our residents, create jobs, and protect the Douglas County landscapes we call home.

  • Installed Solar Thermal Panels producing a more efficient hot water supply
  • Expanded recycling – offered to staff
  • 2 Hybrid administrative vehicles
  • Retrofitted all fluorescent lighting to T8s
  • Eliminated personal printers, all of the departments printing needs are done using centralized multi-functioning copiers.
  • Installed water conservation controllers in cells to reduce water waste and limit the ability of detainees to cause damage by flooding rooms.
  • Gardens for 4-H projects, small fruit production projects, shares excess produce with jail.
     

Department Contacts

Name Job Title Phone Number Email Address
Pam Weigand Director 785-331-1311 pweigand@douglascountyks.org
Leigh Housman Assistant Director - Youth Services 785-331-1314 lhousman@douglascountyks.org
Casey Crane Detention Operations Manager 785-331-1305 ccrane@douglascountyks.org
Paula Rapp Administrative Services Supervisor 785-331-1307 prapp@douglascountyks.org
Robin Rooks Juvenile Services Officer Supervisor 785-331-1306 rrooks@douglascountyks.org
Jennifer Hylton Juvenile Services Officer 785-331-1309 jhylton@douglascountyks.org
Kate Holman Juvenile Services Officer - Truancy 785-331-1308 kholman@douglascountyks.org
Rick West Juvenile Services Officer 785-331-1319 rwest@douglascountyks.org
Megan Thomas Juvenile Services Officer - Juvenile Intake 785-331-1328 mthomas@douglascountyks.org