If the payment is for real estate, you have until May 9th to still pay the first half with interest. If the payment is for personal property, the full amount plus interest becomes due on December 21st.
List of frequently asked questions (FAQ) for Treasurer.
If the payment is for real estate, you have until May 9th to still pay the first half with interest. If the payment is for personal property, the full amount plus interest becomes due on December 21st.
If you have reason to believe that your property is valued too high, submit a "payment under protest" form with your payment. These forms are available at http://www.kansas.gov/cota/documents/PR%20Appeal%20to%20Co.pdf (PDF format).
After submitting this form, the Appraiser office will contact you to make arrangements for a hearing. At this time you will provide the necessary paperwork to prove that your value is valid.
As directed by KSA 19-547, a listing of all delinquent personal property taxes will be published three consecutive weeks during the month of October.
The signature of a spouse or other co-owner would be required when a registration reads "AND", when a name is being added to the registration and/or the title, and it also might be required in other very case specific instances.
In order to for the District Attorney's office to assist us in pursuing collection of insufficient checks, proof of identification is required at the time the check is accepted.
Kansas law K.S.A 40-3107 requires proof of insurance as a prerequisite to motor vehicle registration.
Local units of government are currently prohibited by federal law from taking credit cards directly. We must go through a 3rd party vendor who charges a fee for the service they provide to us and the taxpayer.
The formula for calculating residential real estate properties is as follows:
Appraised value x 11.5% = Assessed value x mill levy-$46.00*= Taxes**
* Residential properties receive a credit on the first $20,000 of assessment on the general portion of the school mill levy. This calculates to $46.00 per property.
** This will not include any specials that might be assessed such as sidewalks, streets, etc.
Any overages occurring from a tax sale are turned over to the Douglas County District Court. The Treasurer’s Office does not retain a listing of these properties.
The registered owner of a car, light truck, or motorcycle may apply for a personalized license plate by providing the current registration receipt for their vehicle, two to four choices for lettering, and payment of the special plate application fee. The fee to order a personalized plate is $45.50 for auto, truck, and motorcycles. To lookup personalized plates, please visit the Kansas Department of Revenue's Personalized Plate Lookup (external link).
You will need to contact the Appraiser's Office at: 785-832-5289. Be prepared to provide the proper documentation regarding any transactions.
Real Estate properties are eligible for foreclosure proceedings 2 years and 10 months after the property has been “bid over to the county”. The bid process occurs the first Tuesday in September after taxes become delinquent.
As directed by KSA 79-2303, a listing of all delinquent real estate properties will be published three consecutive weeks during the month of August.
Any of our three locations:
** Indicates outside drop box at these two locations.
Commercial Motor Vehicles Services are now available in Douglas County!
Douglas County is now processing Commercial Motor Vehicles (CMV)
CMV hours 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m., Tuesday - Thursday. Only at our downtown location at 1100 Massachusetts Lawrence, KS 66044
To setup an appointment outside CMV regular hours please call 785-832-5176 or e-mail.
For a detailed explanation of Kansas Commercial Motor Vehicle (CMV) and USDOT requirements go to
http://www.truckingks.org, and scroll down to and click on the link under:
Useful Resources - Commercial Motor Vehicle Resources
OR, call 785-296-6541 or 785-271-3145.
You will need to exhibit proof of insurance to the treasurer. The proof of insurance must have: the name of the insurance company, the policy number, name of the vehicle owner, the effective and expiration date of the coverage, the year, make and VIN for the vehicle being renewed. You will need proof of insurance for each vehicle. If a trailer does not have its own coverage, the trailer will use the insurance of the vehicle that will be towing the trailer. State law K.S.A 40-3107 requires proof of insurance as a prerequisite to motor vehicle registration.
You can apply for a driver's license with the Driver's License Examiner at:
First half taxes are due December 20th. Second half taxes are due May 10th.
We accept cash, check, cashier checks, money orders, MasterCard, Visa, Discover, or American Express (2.35% user fee) and debit cards.
Make checks payable to: Douglas County Treasurer
If there is a lien holder on file with the Kansas Division of Vehicles for the vehicle, a duplicate title application cannot be issued as long as the lien holder is indicated on the vehicle's computer record. To determine if there is a lien holder listed on the vehicle record look at the latest registration receipt issued for the vehicle or trailer. If there is a lien holder listed, a lien release will be required before the Division of Vehicles will issue a title (it will be a reissue title to remove the lien holder from the computer record and the title). (Exception, moving out of state).
If there is no lien holder for the vehicle, a duplicate title application can be completed at any county treasurer's office or by mailing directly to the Titles and Registrations Bureau. You will need to complete the Application for Secured/Duplicate/Reissue Title, form VCO/TR-720B that includes the following information: vehicle year, make and identification number, owner's name(s) the current odometer reading and your signature. Include appropriate title fee.
NOTE: If the title was issued prior to 2003 and you have an out of state lien holder, check the upper left portion of the receipt for application for Kansas title for "SMO to Lienholder". If there is and SMO (Special Mailing Order) noted on the application, the title was mailed to the lien holder. If the lien is paid off, contact the lien holder concerning the title.
If the title was printed but not mailed to the lien holder or the lien holder does not have the title, you will need a lien release and make application for a "reissued" title that will remove the lien enabling a title to be printed.
The Homestead Act is a State program designed to refund a portion of the property taxes paid on a Kansas resident's homestead. Information about who may qualify and other general information can be found on the back of the Douglas County Tax Statements. The State of Kansas can be reached regarding the Homestead Act at 785-368-8222 Option #4.
You will need a Certification of Disability for Disabled Parking Placard and/or Plate, form TR-159, completed and signed by a Healing Arts licensed Professional (doctor). Instructions and information concerning obtaining a disabled parking placard and/or plate are on the form, TR-159. Take or mail this form to the local county treasurer's motor vehicle office to make application for the disabled parking placard and/or plate. You may have up to two (2) disabled parking devices (one license plate and one placard or two placards). There is no fee for the placard(s) or identification (ID) card.
Yes, HOWEVER, you will need required documents in order to register the vehicle if your name is not on the title.
1. Have the purchaser sign the back of the title where it says Buyer Signature/Purchaser Signature. Print off a TR-212a and have the purchaser sign at the bottom of the form where it says Owner's Signature. Bring in the title documents, proof of insurance, signature form (TR-212a), and payment, and we will register the vehicle without the owner in the office.
2. Have the purchaser sign a Power of Attorney that allows you to bring in their paperwork and sign their name for them. The Power of Attorney is a one time use, original document that cannot be copied or used for anything other than registering a vehicle for someone else.
To reprint a registration renewal, please visit this link and enter the plate number you would like the renewal for:
You can change your address by e-mailing firstname.lastname@example.org. It can also be changed by mailing it to P.O. Box 884 Lawrence, Kansas 66044, or by filling out the back portion of the tax statement that is to be turned in with your payments.
To change the address, the vehicle owner may:
In you live in Douglas County please mail the TR-212a form or signed letter to:
If the tax owing is Real Estate tax you can:
The seller will need to submit a Notarized Lien release to the Department of Revenue or the County Treasurer's office for the title to be printed. In the interim the seller can sign a TR-39a: Electronic Title Sales Agreement' and a 'TR-40: P.O.A., Purchase Price and ODS for Electronic Title' to you and give you a copy of their registration. Once the seller has signed the TR-39a form the purchaser can come in with the TR-39a, proof of insurance, the seller's registration and their Driver's License to purchase a 60-day permit while waiting for the title to be printed. After the title is printed the seller will sign the title over to the purchaser OR the title can be mailed directly to the purchaser and he/she can use the TR-40 to sign the title over to themselves.
All motor homes and RV trailers meeting the definition of a RV will be registered and renewed on a staggered system based on the first letter of the owner's last name. This is the same system used for auto, trucks, and trailers. Use the "regular" registration fees for trucks and trailers based on the registration weight for the vehicle/trailer.
For an estimate on how much it will cost, go to our New Vehicle Purchase Fees page, when calculating registration fees use fees for "Vehicles over 4501 lbs" and for property tax be sure to change the search by method to "RV empty weight and year".
You will need to take the vehicle and the title* for the vehicle to a Kansas motor vehicle inspection station and obtain a Motor Vehicle Examination (form MVE-1) before going to the county treasurer's motor vehicle office. Contact the county treasurer's office or check the Kansas Highway Patrol at http://www.kansashighwaypatrol.org/BusinessDirectoryii.aspx?lngBusinessCategoryID=76 concerning the location and hours of operation of the inspection station. Take the title*, the pink copy of the MVE- 1 and proof of insurance with you to the county treasurer's motor vehicle office to make application for a Kansas title and registration. Each county has their own mill levy for personal property taxes so you will need to contact the county treasurer's office to determine the total amount of fees and taxes due.
*If the title is being held by your lien holder or if the vehicle is being leased, the lien holder or leasing company will need to fax the front and back of the title to the county treasurer's office or the motor vehicle inspection station. The faxed copies will be used to complete the motor vehicle examination resulting in the issuance of an MVE-1. Take proof of insurance, the pink copy of the MVE-1, the copies of the front and back of the title, and a current valid registration receipt from the state in which the vehicle was last registered to the county treasurer's motor vehicle office and make application for title and registration. If the paperwork is complete, a license plate will be issued at that time. The Treasurer's office will send a letter to the lien holder or leasing company requesting they surrender the title they are holding to the Treasurer's office. A new Kansas title will be issued and mailed back to leasing company, if there is no lien holder. If there is a lien on the vehicle, the title will be held electronically until the lien is released. If the lien holder or leasing company will not surrender the title, the applicant and the lien holder or leasing company will need to work out a way for the title to be surrendered, or the registration will not be renewed. The vehicle cannot be operated without valid/current registration.
If the title is being held electronically by another state, the current valid registration receipt from the state in which the vehicle was last registered will be used as proof of ownership for accepting the application for title and registration. The Treasurer's office will correspond with the lien holder and/or the other state to request the title be surrendered to the Treasurer's office. If the title is not surrendered, the applicant and the lien holder or leasing company will need to work out a way for the title to be surrendered, or the registration will not be renewed. The vehicle cannot be operated without valid/current registration.
NOTE: You will have 60 days from the date the letter is sent to the lien holder requesting the title to complete the application for title. (If there are other issues with the application, a letter will be mailed to the applicant to resolve the problem(s).) After 60 days, the registration (license plate) will not be renewed until the title application is completed (all requested information is received). It is the applicant's/owner's responsibility to ensure the title is surrendered to the Treasurer's office by the lien holder.
NOTE: You are NOT REQUIRED to obtain a reissued title after the lien is satisfied (paid off).You can sell the vehicle with your title that shows a lien holder on the front if you have a release of lien from the lien holder, giving both to the buyer. However, if the title and the lien release are lost, a new lien release will be required before making application for a reissued title, which will be used as the replacement title.
If the vehicle owner wishes to remove a lien holder's name from a registration receipt, an application for reissued title must be made at the local county treasurer's motor vehicle office. Bring the notarized lien release and a title will be requested and mailed to you within 5 to 7 days.
Real estate and personal property payment history can be found online through the Property Search page.
The website contains only Real Estate information. Personal property history can be obtained by contacting our office 785-832-5178. Payment information for your car tags can be found on your registration. If you want the amount paid please be prepared with a plate number for each vehicle, you can call us at 785-832-5273.
In December 2018, the Douglas County Commission approved an increase to motor vehicle satellite office fees from $2 per vehicle to $5 per vehicle. The new fees began Jan. 1, 2019.
**Transactions processed at the County Courthouse, 1100 Massachusetts Street, or by mail are not subject to the satellite fee.
To remove a name(s): At least one of the current owners must remain on the title as an owner. Use the assignment on the back of the title. Complete the purchaser's name space on the back of the title under "Name of Purchaser" as the name(s) are to appear on the new title. If there is a lien holder for the vehicle, a Lienholder's Consent to Transfer Ownership, form TR-128, must be completed. If there is an etitle, use the assignment space on the bottom of the form TR-128. Bring in your current registration and proof of insurance.
Adding a name(s): Only an immediate family member (spouse, father, mother, son and/or daughter) can be added to a title. This is considered to be transfer of an existing registration. On the back of the title, use the purchaser's name space to record ALL the names that are to appear on the new title. If there is a lien holder for the vehicle, a Lienholder's Consent to Transfer Ownership, form TR-128, must be completed. If it is an etitle, use the assignment space on the bottom of the form TR-128. All owners need to sign for the initial application, bring in your current registration and proof of insurance. If you choose to purchase a new plate any one can be added to the title.
If you are adding any names that are not immediate family members, use the back of the title and complete the purchaser's name space to record ALL the names that are to appear on the new title. If there is a lien holder for the vehicle, a Lienholder's Consent to Transfer Ownership, form TR-128, must be completed. If it is an etitle, use the assignment space on the bottom of the form TR-128. This is considered an original title application and all fees and taxes will be accessed. Bring in your proof of insurance.
Changing name(s) due to marriage or court order will requires a copy of the marriage license or the court order. Use the back of the title and complete the purchaser's name space to record ALL the names that are to appear on the new title. If there is a lien holder for the vehicle, a Lienholder's Consent to Transfer Ownership, form TR-128, must be completed. If there is an etitle, use the assignment space on the bottom of the form TR-128. Bring in your current registration and proof of insurance.
A properly assigned title, proof of insurance, the signature of the purchaser and the current fee are needed to get a 60 day permit. A properly completed transfer of ownership agreement (TR-39A) from the dealership may also be used, along with proof of insurance and the current fee. For an E-lien record a seller can sign an Electronic Title Sales Agreement (TR-39A) to you. You can come in with a TR-39A, a copy of the sellers' registration, proof of insurance and your Driver license to purchase a 60-day permit while waiting for the title to be printed.
And: All persons listed before and after the "and" must sign. &/or: Either the person before or after the "& / or", "and / or" can sign, only one signature required. Or: Either the person before or after the "or" can sign, only one signature is required.
Due to difficulties with other titling jurisdictions interpretation of "and/or" differently than that from Kansas, it is suggested that if you want only one (1) person to be allowed to sign all transactions for a vehicle, the word "or" be used between names.
The Kansas Division of Vehicle interprets two or more names with no connection between the names to be "and", which will require all persons listed to sign as owner.
When registering a moped, heavy truck or trailer, you are only paying for the registration fees on that item. Personal property taxes are billed separately through the County. These statements are mailed out mid November and the beginning of April.
Cash payments should be made in person in the office only. Checks are accepted in any of our office locations, in our two drop box locations, and through the mail. You can pay by e-check online for a $1.49 fee. Credit card payment is available in the office and online at http://ks-douglas.manatron.com. There is a fee for using a credit card. Payment cannot be made by credit card over the phone.
Once you have signed over the title to someone else the owner (seller) can apply for a refund in the County in which the fees were paid.
The owner will need to bring in the following:
For a vehicle that is now registered in another state?:
If you have recently moved to another state, you can apply for a refund of the remaining property taxes.
The owner will need to bring in or mail in the following:
Please Note: Refunds are calculated on the date ALL the documentation is complete. If it is your month of renewal there would not be a refund.
Mail all information to:
No, never deliver or accept a title that is not completely and properly assigned. It is a violation of Kansas law to fail to show complete chain of ownership of the title.
You can change your address by mailing it to P.O. Box 884, Lawrence, Kansas 66044. It can also be changed by email to email@example.com, or by filling out the back portion of the tax statement that is to be turned in with your payment.
No, for a City of Lawrence ticket, you need to contact the Lawrence Municipal Court at 1 Riverfront Plaza, Lawrence KS 66044 or 785-832-6190.
If the ticket was issued by the Kansas Highway Patrol or Douglas County Sheriff's office (look at the contact information on the back of the ticket) use the contact information there for Douglas County District Court.
If the seller does not give the buyer a properly assigned title and cannot be located, the buyer must consult with an attorney and go to court to obtain a court order authorizing the Kansas Department of Revenue to title the vehicle in the name of the petitioner (quiet title action).
Your Kansas title will be mailed to you if there is not a lien against the vehicle. Please allow 4 to 6 weeks for delivery. If there is a lien, the title will not be printed until the lien is paid off and a lien release has been submitted with the State of Kansas.
A motorized bicycle is defined in KSA 8-126(aa) as, a device having two tandem wheels OR three wheels, which may be propelled by either human power, helper power, or by both, and which has ALL OF THE FOLLOWING:
Any two or three wheeled vehicle which:
cannot be registered as a motorized bike and MUST be registered as a motorcycle, or may not qualify for any type of title and registration.
No, you need to contact the Douglas County Clerk's Office at 785-832-5147.
Beginning January 1, 2014, Motor Carriers will no longer pay ad-valorem tax (tax based on value), nor personal property tax on Commercial Motor Vehicles (CMV). With the passage of HB2557 during the 2012 legislative session, CMVs will pay a new "Commercial vehicle fee" that will be collected at the time of registration. Intrastate (do not travel outside the state of Kansas) CMVs will receive a new registration plate that will have a screen printed "COMMERCIAL" at the bottom of the plate.
A commercial vehicle is any self-propelled (truck) or towed (trailer) vehicle engaged in the furtherance of commerce that is used to transport property or passengers when the vehicle:
Note: This change does not affect Farm Registration or vehicles of a public utility whose property is assessed by the director of property valuation.
Therefore, if a truck is Farm Registered or used exclusively for owner's farm operation and DOES NOT TRAVEL OUT OF KANSAS it is not considered a Commercial vehicle.
This exception would not apply to Commercial Vehicles hired by one of the entities listed above to transport children other than to or from school. Example: Buses hired to take students on a school trip.
"Implement of husbandry" is defined as every vehicle designed or adapted and used exclusively for agricultural operations… regardless of ownership.
(A) Motor vehicles with a GVWR of 26,000 lbs. or less, carrying tools, property or material belonging to the owner of the vehicle, and used in repair, building or construction work are excepted and not considered Commercial Vehicles. This does not include vehicles transporting actual building materials or other objects for eventual sale. Vehicles transporting hazardous materials are always considered Commercial, require a placard and must register as such.
(B) Construction materials being transferred to and from an active construction site may be transported in a non-commercial vehicle with a GVWR of under 26,000 lbs. as long as the site is within a 25-mile radius of the motor carrier's principal place of business.
If your vehicle meets the definition of a Commercial motor vehicle you will need to present your current US DOT number at registration time.
All art is located in two places in the Court Courthouse at 1100 Massachusetts in Lawrence, Kansas:
1100 Massachusetts Street
Lawrence, KS 66044
Judicial and Law Enforcement Center:
111 East 11th Street
Lawrence, KS 66044