Skip to contentSkip to navigation

Info 211

Emergency Management

The vision of Douglas County Emergency Management is that Douglas County, Kansas will be a community that is disaster aware and disaster prepared.

How Do I...


Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC)

November 9, 2021

The LEPC is responsible for developing an emergency plan to prepare for and respond to chemical emergencies within the community.

In 1986, Congress passed the Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act (SARA) which established a national baseline with regard to planning, response, management and training for hazardous materials emergencies. SARA mandated the establishment of both state and local planning groups to develop and review hazardous materials response plans. The state planning groups are referred to as the State Emergency Response Commissions (SERC) and are responsible for developing and maintaining the state's emergency response plan. The Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) is responsible for developing an emergency plan to prepare for and respond to chemical emergencies within the community. It is the main function of the LEPC to look after community interests in regard to hazardous incidents that may occur there. The LEPC is the coordinating point for both planning and training activities at the local level. The LEPC also receives emergency release and chemical inventory information submitted by local industrial facilities and makes this information available to the community it serves. In addition to its formal responsibilities, the LEPC often serves as a focal point for information and discussions about hazardous substances. The LEPC's ability to improve and maintain the safety and health of its community is greatly enhanced by the support of an informed citizenry.
LEPC members are community agency and business leaders who represent all areas that may be involved in reponse to an emerency incident. These areas are classified as Emergency Support Functions (ESFs); the LEPC membership list below is organized in this manner. 
The Douglas County Emergency Management Agency is the local Community Right-to-Know resource for hazardous material information. Anyone desiring information concerning LEPC meetings, SARA Title lll hazardous materials planning which is included in the Douglas County Emergency Operations Plan, materials safety data sheets (MSDS), and hazardous chemical inventory forms listing extremely hazardous substances manufactured, stored, or used within Douglas County can be obtained during normal business hours by contacting Douglas County Emergency Management at 785-832-5259.
All LEPC meetings are on the first Wednesday of the month, at 8:30 a.m. The Executive Committee meets in the EOC at the Law Enforcement Center. The location of the quarterly Board meeting varies. Agenda packets are emailed one week prior to the scheduled meeting and contain information regarding location. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, all meetings are being held virtually.  View meeting information here. 

Douglas County Emergency Management LEPC Board Membership

Governing Bodies (appointed by governing bodies)
Greg GardnerAppointee of Douglas County Commission
Mindy Andrasevits Appointee of Eudora City Council
Casey QuigleyAppointee of Lecompton City Council
Truman "Bud" WaughAppointee of Lawrence City Commission
Rob CulleyAppointee of Baldwin City Council


Emergency Support Functions
Transportation ESF #1
Lane SekavecUnion Pacific Railroad
Adam WeigelLawrence Transit
Emergency Communications ESF #2
Tony FosterEmergency Communications Center
Kevin OneslagerARRL Emergency Coordinator
Public Works & Engineering ESF #3
Chad VoigtDouglas County Public Works
Melissa SiebenCity of Lawrence MSO
Tonya VoigtDouglas County Zoning and Codes 
Fire, ESF #4
Mike BaxterFire Chiefs Association, Douglas County Consolidated Fire Distrist #1
Emergency Management ESF #5
John Stipetich University of Kansas Public Safety
Mass Care, Housing, and Human Services ESF #6
Xena HoyeAmerican Red Cross of Kansas and Oklahoma
Gabi SpragueDouglas County Human Services
Resource Management ESF #7
Kjrsten Abel RuchUnited Way of Kaw Valley
Public Health and Medical Services ESF #8
Teri AxmanLMH Health
Veronica WhiteLawrence-Douglas County Public Health
Morgan CarnagieHeartland Community Health Center
Pat DeaverVisiting Nurses
Hubert WhiteIndian Health Service
Search & Rescue, ESF #9
Joe HardyLawrence-Douglas County Fire Medical
HazMat, ESF #10
Joe HardyLawrence-Douglas County Fire Medical
Agriculture/Natural Resources ESF #11
Liz AdamsLawrence Humane Society
Marlin BatesK-State Research and Extension - Douglas County
Energy and Utilities ESF #12
Ethan UnfredBlack Hills Energy
Chris LamarBlack Hills Energy
Boone HestonEvergy
Law Enforcement, ESF #13
Steven BuchholzDouglas County Sheriff's Office
Mike PattrickBaldwin Police Department
David ErnstLawrence Police Department
James DruenUniversity of Kansas Police Department
Public Information ESF #15
Karrey BrittDouglas County
Lynn MeadorCity of Baldwin City
Chemical Preparedness
Bradley AugustChemTrade
Kay JohnsonPROSOCO
Community Group/Social Service
Steve DevoreKansas Suicide Prevention HQ
Kim MurphreeLDS Church
Matthew FaulkBert Nash CMHC
Kim Criner RitchieDouglas County Sustainability
Stu MoeckelEudora Public Schools
Derek BlandBaldwin Public Schools
Ron MayLawrence Public Schools
Mike RussellUniversity of Kansas
Josh WoodwardPerry-Lecompton Public Schools
Facility / Industry
Shane MunschICL
Officers & Executive Committee Members
Mike Pattrick, Chair
Tony Foster, Vice Chair
Stu Moeckel
Bradley August
Mike Baxter