Skip to contentSkip to navigation

IAEM-USA Awards 2013 Clayton R. Christopher Memorial Award to Teri Smith, CEM, Director, Douglas County Emergency Management

Oct. 30, 2013 (Falls Church, Va.) – The USA Council of the International Association of Emergency Managers (IAEM) announced the winner of the IAEM-USA 2013 Clayton R. Christopher Memorial Award at the IAEM 61st Annual Conference & EMEX 2013, held Oct. 25-30, 2013, in Reno, Nevada. The award was presented to Teri Smith, CEM, Director, Douglas County (Kan.) Emergency Management.

Teri Smith is a Certified Emergency Manager (CEM®) with more than 18 years of experience in the emergency management profession. Through her years of service, Ms. Smith has been instrumental in developing the effective emergency management program that Douglas County has today. She has much experience with responding to local and regional events, including Hurricanes Katrina and Rita.

As the President of IAEM-USA Region 7 and Past President and Northeast Region Vice President of the Kansas Emergency Management Association, she serves each of the local jurisdictions through effective communication, collaboration, and as a mentor. Ms. Smith’s innovative approaches have brought preparedness and training opportunities to those who might not normally have such opportunities. Through her work on the Pursuit to Preparedness campaign, miniCERT training, and efforts with mental health partners, she has opened doors to vulnerable populations and those who serve them, better preparing her community for emergencies and disasters.

Ms. Smith remains the image of inspiration, integrity, and devotion. She is not afraid to challenge the status quo or ask the difficult questions in the interest of moving the profession forward. Emergency managers today and tomorrow are better off due to the contributions of Teri Smith, CEM.

About the IAEM-USA Council Awards Competition Learn about the IAEM-USA Council Awards Competition at, where information about all IAEM awards is posted.

About the Clayton R. Christopher Memorial Award

The Clayton R. Christopher Memorial Award was established by IAEM-USA Region 4 in honor of Clayton R. Christopher, who served as Director of Clayton County (Ga.) Civil Defense from June 1962 until his death on Oct. 29, 1976, while on business travel. Mr. Christopher was unselfishly dedicated to the emergency management profession and IAEM. His principles of integrity and leadership have served as a guiding force to the institution of emergency management, forming a strong foundation for its future. The award is presented annually to a local emergency management director/coordinator (city, county, tribal), who is a current IAEM-USA member, in recognition of contributions to the profession of emergency management.

About IAEM

The International Association of Emergency Managers (IAEM), which has more than 5,000 members in 58 countries, is a non-profit educational organization dedicated to promoting the goals of saving lives and protecting property during emergencies and disasters. IAEM provides: access to the largest network of emergency management experts who can provide advice and assistance; the Certified Emergency Manager (CEM®) program; annual scholarships; a comprehensive monthly newsletter; and more. Visit for details.

Date Awarded: 
Wed, Oct 30 2013
Press Release: