Skip to contentSkip to navigation

Welcome to the 7th Judicial District of Kansas

District Court

The Seventh Judicial District is the state District Court for Douglas County, Kansas. The cities of Baldwin City, Eudora and Lawrence have their own municipal courts which are separate from state District Court. 

State District Courts are courts of general jurisdiction. That jurisdiction extends to all civil and criminal matters that are recognized under state law, including lawsuits for damages to personal rights and property, divorce and child custody, probate and administration of estates, guardianships/conservatorships, care of the mentally ill, juvenile matters and small claims. 

Decisions of the District Court are generally subject to appeal. Appeals can be taken to the Kansas Court of Appeals and, in some instances, directly to the Kansas Supreme Court.

We hope this page helps you locate the information you are seeking about our local District Court.

The Court Administrator supervises and coordinates the administrative functions and operations of the district court, supervises and directs the activities of non-judicial employees of the court and performs other duties that are designated by the chief judge, required by law or by the state Judicial Administrator.

Guidelines for court hearings on Zoom


Judicial and Law Enforcement Center

111 East 11th Street Lawrence, KS 66044

Public Hours

Mon - Fri

8am - 12pm 1pm - 4:30pm

Contact Information

Live Court Hearings

Department Contacts

Name Job Title Phone Number Email Address
Linda Koester-Vogelsang Court Administrator 785-832-5256
Dee Jerome Administrative Assist 785-330-2810
Court Trustee
Name Job Title Phone Number
Mary Elizabeth Diaz District Court Trustee 785-832-5315
John Giele Deputy District Court Trustee - Child Support 785-838-2407
Vera Gannaway Asst. Court Trustee - Child Support 785-838-2406
Karen Taylor Office Manager 785-838-2403
Front Counter Receptionist 785-832-5315
Debra Pennington Paralegal - Child Support 785-838-2404
Jeanice Corbitt Paralegal - Child Support 785-838-2405
Sherry Bernhardt Clerk II - Child Support 785-832-5315
Marily Mulingbayan Administrative Assistant - Criminal/Restitution 785-838-2400
Shelby Stauch Clerk III - Traffic/Criminal/Restitution 785-838-2401
Sofie Schendel Clerk - Criminal/Restitution 785-832-5315
Division 1
Name Job Title Phone Number
The Honorable Amy Hanley District Judge 785-832-5265
Kris Knowles Admin. Asst. 785-832-5265
Donna Lytle Court Reporter 785-832-5234
Division 1 Fax 785-838-2454
Division 2
Name Job Title Phone Number
The Honorable Sally Pokorny District Judge 785-832-5248
Mary Kay Howe Court Reporter 785-832-5250
Ellen Grant Admin. Asst. 785-832-5248
Division 2 Fax 785-838-2454
Division 3
Name Job Title Phone Number
The Honorable B. Kay Huff District Judge 785-832-5230
Vernon Anderson Admin. Asst. 785-832-5230
Meghan Rogers Court Reporter 785-832-5230
Division 3 Fax 785-838-2456
Division 4
Name Job Title Phone Number
The Honorable James McCabria District Judge 785-832-5124
Tiffany Wade Admin. Asst. 785-832-5124
Tammy Hogsett Court Reporter 785-832-5249
Division 4 Fax 785-838-2455
Division 5
Name Job Title Phone Number
The Honorable Mark A. Simpson District Judge 785-832-5323
Zara Strayer Admin. Asst. 785-832-5323
Division 5 Fax 785-838-2455
Division 6
Name Job Title Phone Number
The Honorable Stacey Donovan District Judge 785-832-5144
Adelaida Mendoza Admin. Asst. 785-832-5144
Shelee Shafer Court Reporter 785-832-5200
Joyce Lederer Court Reporter 785-832-5200
Division 6 Fax 785-838-2455
Pro Tem Division
Name Job Title Phone Number
The Honorable James T. George Pro Tem Judge 785-330-2817
Lacy Gaultney Admin. Asst. 785-330-2817
Pro Tem Division Fax 785-838-2494
Juvenile Division
Name Job Title Phone Number
The Honorable Paul R. Klepper Juvenile Judge 785-832-5118
Angie Figgs Admin. Asst. 785-832-5118