Skip to contentSkip to navigation

Info 211

How Do I...

X

Paying Your Trustee Referred Court Debt or Traffic Case

Court Trustee

11 E. 11th Street, Unit 101 | Lawrence, KS 66044

Tel: 785-832-5315 Fax: 785-838-2408 Email us

Payments image


  1. You are being supervised by a Court Services or Community Corrections probation officer and your probation officer sent you to our office for a payment plan; 
  2. The Judge that heard your case sent you to our office for a payment plan;
  3. You appeared for traffic court and the DA’s office sent you to our office for a payment plan; OR
  4. You received a letter from our office advising of your court ordered obligations and the need to contact us to make payment arrangements.
If you do not know whether or not your case has been referred to this office please call us at 785-832-5315 to confirm.
 
Once we receive your case we will establish a payment plan with you. You can avoid having a collection fee assessed if you pay your balance in full within 60 days.
Credit Card Payments: Please note that a service fee of 2.35% of the payment will be assessed on all credit card payments when paid online, by phone, or in person.
  • To pay by credit card over the phone, please call our main office at 785-832-5315 between the hours of 8:30am-4:30pm Monday through Friday.
  • To pay by credit card online please go to: paydirect.link2gov.com/DCT-TrusteePublic  The online option is available 24 hours a day/7 days a week.
Cash Payments:
  • To pay with cash come to the Court Trustee’s office between 8:30am-4:30pm Monday through Friday.  A mask and temperature check is required to access the Douglas County JLE building. 
Payments by Mail:
  • To pay by mail with a money order make your money order payable to the District Court Trustee and mail to: District Court Trustee, 111 E 11th Street, Unit 101, Lawrence, KS 66044. You must include the case number you want the payment applied to.
  • We no longer accept payment by personal check.
Payments in Person: 
  • To pay with cash, credit card or money order come to the Court Trustee’s office between 8:30am-4:30pm Monday through Friday. A mask and temperature check is required to access the Douglas County JLE building.  Please note that a service fee of 2.35% of the payment will be assessed on all credit card payment.
Payments by Phone: Please call one of our clerks who can process your credit card over the phone.  A service fee of 2.35% of the payment will be assessed.

 

Are you experiencing a hardship that prevents you from paying trafic fines, fees and/or driver's license reinstatement fees? 

Kansas law provides the option to petition the court for removal or reduction of traffic fines, fees and driver's license reinstatement fees Click here for the District Court Fee Waiver Request Form.  For more information or instructions from Kansas Legal Services click here.

Department Contacts

Name Job Title Phone Number Email Address
Mary Elizabeth Diaz District Court Trustee 785-832-5315 mbdiaz@douglascountyks.org
John Giele Deputy District Court Trustee - Child Support 785-838-2407 jgiele@douglascountyks.org
Vera Gannaway Asst. Court Trustee - Child Support 785-838-2406 vgannaway@douglascountyks.org
Karen Taylor Office Manager 785-838-2403 ktaylor@douglascountyks.org
Front Counter Receptionist 785-832-5315 trustee@douglascountyks.org
Shelby Davis Paralegal - Child Support 785-838-2404 sdavis@douglascountyks.org
Jeanice Corbitt Paralegal - Child Support 785-838-2405 jcorbitt@douglascountyks.org
Sherry Bernhardt Clerk III - Child Support/Traffic 785-832-5315 sbernhardt@douglascountyks.org
Marily Mulingbayan Administrative Assistant - Court Debt/Restitution 785-838-2400 mmulingbayan@douglascountyks.org
Tamara Bradley Clerk II - Court Debt/Restitution 785-838-2401 tbradley@douglascountyks.org
Angelica Plata Part Time Clerk - Court Debt/Restitution 785-838-2414 aplata@douglascountyks.org