Skip to contentSkip to navigation

Info 211

How Do I...

X

Child and Spousal Support

Court Trustee

11 E. 11th Street, Unit 101 | Lawrence, KS 66044

Tel: 785-832-5315 Fax: 785-838-2408 Email us

Child Support image


The Court Trustee is a local court office with an experienced staff. We are devoted to providing excellent customer service to the families we serve. Our staff can be reached directly by phone.  Contact the Paralegal or the Attorney handling your case by calling 785-832-5315.

The Court Trustee's office is funded (pursuant to Kansas law) through the collection of child and spousal support enforcement fees. The enforcement fee is 5% of the determined support amount and the fee is generally shared equally by the parties, so each party pays only 2.5%. No additional legal fees are assessed.

This office can assist with:

  • Enforcement of child and maintenance support orders
  • Modification of child support orders
  • Notice to the parties of modification due to emancipation
  • Monitoring and review of child support orders for possibility of modification
  • Location of residence and employment of parent owing support
  • Establishment of child support orders where paternity  has previously been established by court order or in cases where no order for support was entered in the final divorce decree

Department Contacts

Name Job Title Phone Number Email Address
Mary Elizabeth Diaz District Court Trustee 785-832-5315 mbdiaz@douglascountyks.org
John Giele Deputy District Court Trustee - Child Support 785-838-2407 jgiele@douglascountyks.org
Vera Gannaway Asst. Court Trustee - Child Support 785-838-2406 vgannaway@douglascountyks.org
Karen Taylor Office Manager 785-838-2403 ktaylor@douglascountyks.org
Front Counter Receptionist 785-832-5315 trustee@douglascountyks.org
Shelby Davis Paralegal - Child Support 785-838-2404 sdavis@douglascountyks.org
Jeanice Corbitt Paralegal - Child Support 785-838-2405 jcorbitt@douglascountyks.org
Sherry Bernhardt Clerk III - Child Support/Traffic 785-832-5315 sbernhardt@douglascountyks.org
Marily Mulingbayan Administrative Assistant - Court Debt/Restitution 785-838-2400 mmulingbayan@douglascountyks.org
Tamara Bradley Clerk II - Court Debt/Restitution 785-838-2401 tbradley@douglascountyks.org
Angelica Plata Part Time Clerk - Court Debt/Restitution 785-838-2414 aplata@douglascountyks.org