Skip to contentSkip to navigation

Court Payments


Presently, the Clerk’s Office is open by appointment. Any person may call the Clerk to make payment over the phone on any judgment at 785-832-5231. Multiple online options exist for payment and the public is encouraged to pursue those avenues. Surcharges may apply to phone/online payments

The Court Trustee office is open every week day between 8:30 am and 4:30 pm and will accept in person cash payments for child support and court debt that has been referred to the Trustee. The Court Trustee and staff remain on duty and will continue to closely monitor payments due for support and restitution. Staff can be contacted at 785-832-5315.

Cash payments, checks, money orders, debit card payments or credit card payments (Visa, MasterCard, or Discover) can be made in person in the office of the Clerk of the District Court or over the phone (call Court Clerk at 785-832-5256). Transaction fees are assessed with credit card or debit card payments (currently 4% of total transaction). You should reference your case number(s) on any check or money order mailed. You can make on-line payments in traffic cases (see Traffic Cases below) if the balance due is being paid in full.

  • Clerk of District Court
  • Criminal Division
  • 111 E. 11th Street, Unit 5
  • Lawrence KS 66044-2966
  • 8:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. (noon) and 1:00 p.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday - Friday
  • closed for lunch (12:00 p.m. - 1:00 p.m.)
  • closed on holidays

If you have a traffic case, you may make payments (credit or debit card or electronic check) online using CitePayUSA.com. There is a service fee with any online payment, currently 4% of the costs assessed. For more information, go to https://www.CitePayUSA.com. To find your traffic records, you will need to select "Kansas" as your state and "Douglas County District Court" as your court. Online payments are only available for traffic cases and no partial payments are allowed. This service is available 24/7.

Department Contacts

Name Job Title Phone Number Email Address
Douglas A. Hamilton Clerk of the District Court dhamilton@douglascountyks.org
Amber Ballard Supervisor / Jury Manager 785-832-5111 aballard@douglascountyks.org
Rachel Lavelle Supervisor 785-832-5255 rlavelle@douglascountyks.org
Evie Schlife Accounting Technician 785-832-5252 eschlife@douglascountyks.org
Beverly Sigafoose Juvenile Clerk 785-832-5253 bsigafoose@douglascountyks.org
Brian Garton Jury Clerk 785-832-5213 jury@douglascountyks.org
Cindy Winger Traffic Clerk 785-832-5231 cwinger@douglascountyks.org
Emily Krichati Domestic Clerk / Marriage License / PFA Administrative Assistant 785-832-5227 ekrichati@douglascountyks.org
Jordan Moore Records / Juvenile Clerk 785-832-5141 jmoore@douglascountyks.org
Kassandra Meyer Limited Civil Clerk 785-832-5257 kmeyer@douglascountyks.org
Michael Preut Criminal Clerk 785-832-5236 mpreut@douglascountyks.org
Stephanie Weeks Major Civil Clerk 785-832-5228 sweeks@douglascountyks.org
Brenda Hensley-Hughes Probate / Adoptions Clerk 785-832-5132
Rachell Orce Appeals / Small Claims / Liens Clerk 785-832-5254
Civil civil@douglascountyks.org
Criminal criminal@douglascountyks.org
Records courtrecords@douglascountyks.org
Jury Service Recording 785-832-5108