Skip to contentSkip to navigation

Administration

The County Administrator is the chief executive officer of the county, with overall responsibility for the efficient administration of policies determined by the County Commission. The administrator serves at the pleasure of the County Commission, and is responsible for the implementation of their goals. Specific duties include budget preparation, coordination of county operations with other local governments and agencies, and development of proposals to improve county operations.

Citizens with any county related problem should always feel welcome to call or e-mail the County Administrator for assistance.

Our Services

Commission Board

Board of Commissioners Patrick Kelly, Nancy Thellman, and Michelle Derusseau.

Food Policy Council (FPC)

The FPC identifies the benefits, challenges and opportunities for a successful, sustainable local food system in Douglas County, Kansas.

Sustainability

Sustainability means balancing the needs of the economy, environment, and society.

Commission Meetings

Commission meetings information, including agendas and minutes.

Heritage Conservation Council (HCC)

The HCC promotes the conservation of our cultural and natural heritage to honor our past, enrich our present, and inspire our future.

Purchasing

Purchasing enforces the Douglas County Purchasing Policy, maintains an active list of vendors, prepares specifications, and issues requests for bids and proposals for county departments.

Audit Reports

Financial statements, required communications, independent auditors reports, and single audit reports.

County Administrator

County Administrator Sarah Plinsky.

Human Resources

Human Resources places ads for new jobs, boards new hires, and handles health insurance as we are self insured and working with third party vendors for voluntary benefits and flexible spending. We work with all employees to answer questions regarding health insurance, pay ranges and job descriptions.

Budget

Budget maintains the budgets for all taxing entities within Douglas County including the County, Cities, Townships, Cemeteries, Drainage Districts, and Northeast Kansas Library. Budget also sets all tax mill levies within Douglas County and the tax abstract.

Department Contacts

Name Job Title Phone Number Email Address
Sarah Plinsky County Administrator 785-832-5329 splinsky@douglascountyks.org
Robin Crabtree Executive Secretary 785-832-5268 rcrabtree@douglascountyks.org
Jill Jolicoeur Assistant County Administrator 785-330-2890 jjolicoeur@douglascountyks.org
Bob Tryanski Director of Behavioral Health Projects 785-393-4821 btryanski@douglascountyks.org
Karrey Britt Communications Specialist 785-330-2894 kbritt@douglascountyks.org
Michelle Spreer Human Resources Manager 785-832-5149 mspreer@douglascountyks.org
Julie Clouse Mgt. Information Analyst 785-832-5358 jclouse@douglascountyks.org
Kristi Fouraker Administrative Specialist - HR 785-832-5327 kfouraker@douglascountyks.org
Cammy Owens Budget Manager 785-832-5287 cowens@douglascountyks.org
Jackie Waggoner Purchasing Director 785-832-5286 jwaggoner@douglascountyks.org
Brooke Sauer Mgt. Information Analyst 785-330-2863 bsauer@douglascountyks.org
Jan Shupert-Arick Heritage Conservation Coordinator 785-330-2878 jshupertarick@douglascountyks.org